Skip navigation

My brother sent me this email about the “between channels” entry:

“put on that Indian headdress so I can take your picture by my stuff”….fucking priceless!!! That looks like a picture from that old white Polaroid Swinger camera you had.”

“Anyway, I remember playing with that camera a lot when we were little…so cool…we could see the pictures almost right away. Digital has nothin’ on the old Swinger! Oh…by the way…as it turned out, those chemicals with the Polaroid film that we used to get all over ourselves…hands…etc…was toxic!”

“Do you have any other photos from that camera? I’d love to see them.”

I responded with this picture attached:

Okay John … put on these old shades of Dad’s and lay on the floor next to the “GI Joe” guns, Nazi armband and some of my coin collection.
Perfect … damn, I got my shoe in the picture!

He sent back a colorized version:

“What do you think…could be my new facebook photo…I’d have to get rid of the swastika though…I wouldn’t want to start getting a bunch of friend requests from a bunch of nut jobs.
I love these old shots.”

That armband was something my father took off a German soldier during WWII, he also took the pistol that you see pictured below in another of our creative photos. Also in the photo is the silver certificate, an “A” ration stamp from WWII, old presidential campaign buttons .. all laid out on a map of Germany that shows the history of my father’s time spent there. Also that picture you see in the picture, well that’s of a flying saucer that I took out our kitchen window .. that will have to be a future blog entry!

Here’s to you John .. the creative collaboration continues forty years on …

Leave a Reply

