Skip navigation

When I was 7 years old I remember looking out my bedroom window one day after school and seeing a bright burning object that I thought was a comet, that’s what I said to my Mom when I ran downstairs to tell her, “I just saw a comet!” It looked like those pictures in my space books of comets, a fireball with a tail. I don’t recall her reaction but the image of the fireball is burned into my memory. At some point we reached the conclusion that it must have been a meteor, probably looking at my books and determining that comets don’t come burning into the Earth’s atmosphere.

The next day as my Dad was dropping me off at school he ran into a friend of his that worked for the local newspaper, his friend’s son also went to my school. Dad told him about what I saw and he quizzed me about its size … as big as an apple? grapefruit? … the quote in the paper about it being the size of a grapefruit was his word, not mine, it was just a ball of fire with a tail on it that was big! Anyway my quote was included in the article you see here, we cut it out of the paper and saved it, that article has been tucked away, stumbled upon occasionally while going through old stuff, all but forgotten.

Then one night in 2007 while watching TV I stumbled upon a show about the “Kecksburg UFO”. The witnesses’ description of what they saw in the sky jogged my memory, it said it was visible for hundreds of miles. I thought it sounded very similar to what I saw so I dug out the article to read. It did not have a date on it but mentioned I was 7 years old … mmm … that would have been 1965 the same year as the Kecksburg incident. That’s what I saw!

I eventually went to the local library to look up the newspaper from December 10, 1965, I printed out copies and finally read the continuation of the article that was on page two. Below is a scan of part of that front page and the preceding day, December 9th, to me it helps to understand what all was going on in the world at that time.

One thing I found interesting is that the Gemini 6 & 7 space missions were going on at that same time, below is a scan of the article that was below the “fireball” article. One of the program objectives of Gemini was “to perfect reentering the atmosphere and landing at a specific point on land”, that is just one of the strange coincidences I have found in preparing this story.

Here are links to some of my finds …

Here’s an Ohio papers story:

“‘Fireball’ Brightens Sky”

Pictures taken from the Pontiac Michigan area:

“Analysis of the “Kecksburg UFO” Fireball Trajectory”

A collection of reports of the incident:

“A dark December evening”

Information on a power outage in the east that same day:

“portions of six neighboring states and eastern Canada were plunged in to darkness”

A recent (November 2009) news story:

“Is case finally closed on 1965 UFO mystery?”

I have no conclusions, it’s just interesting stuff!

Okay … I just realized that the link about the power outage is November 9, 1965 … not December … but I’m gonna leave it there because I still find it interesting!

Leave a Reply

