Skip navigation

Today would be my grandfather Herbert’s 111th birthday, in honor of that and to give equal time to my Dad’s side of the family I am posting this. He died when I was 2 years and 9 months old, I have one faint memory of him, being in his car, that memory includes the dashboard and him … just being in the car with him and seeing the dashboard … that’s it. That’s back when a 2 year old could ride in a car standing up in front of the dashboard, not a modern soft dashboard, one with sharp metal edges. I don’t remember riding in a moving car, just it sitting in the driveway of their home on Sheridan Street, the house with the chestnut trees in the front yard that would litter the ground with treasures.

Included here are pictures of him and his Dad, Herbert Sr. my great-grandfather, I remember my Dad telling me his dad’s dad was a huckster, he went through the streets with a cart selling vegetables and fruit. Above is a picture of them berry picking. Great-granddad’s dad Edward is as far back as I can trace our family name, all I know of him is that he was born in Canada and died at an early age. It is said he “broke horses” by riding them out into the bay, they lived at the end of Linwood Road on Saginaw Bay.

Above is Herb Sr. and Herb Jr., I don’t know the horses name.

Above is Herb Sr. with his wife Delia, son Herb Jr. and daughter Irine.

I can trace my great-grandmother Delia LaRocque’s family, Herb Sr.’s wife, back to 1400. Both her family and my mother’s grandfather’s family, Vaillancourt, came to Canada from France in 1665.

In fact the story goes:

Great, Great, Great, Great, Great, Great, Great Grandfather Philibert, born in 1647, was the first to arrive in the New World in 1665. After serving as a King’s Musketeer, Philibert Couillaud Roquebrune joined the Carignan-Sallieres regiment. He left France, so goes the story, after a duel in which his opponent, Hauterive, was mortally wounded. Since dueling was illegal, Roquebrune was now in trouble with the king. A cousin, La Roque de Saint-Chamarand, was able to help him wriggle out of the scrape. He was spirited off to New France in 1665 to fight the Iroquois. King Louis XIV by now held Roquebrune back in his good graces. He encouraged Roquebrune and the other officers and soldiers of Carignan to remain in the colony. Philibert did remain and in so doing became the main progenitor of the Larocque family in North America.

And:

Great, Great, Great, Great, Great, Great, Great, Grandfather Robert Vaillancourt was baptised at St-Nicholas d’Aliermont, Normandy, France on October 3, 1644. He arrived in Canada around 1665.

I find that an interesting coincidence, did Robert and Philibert cross the ocean on the same ship, did they know each other?

But I digress.

Delia and Herbert Sr.

One Comment

  1. My mother was a Vaillancourt with Robert as a common ascendant in the family. It seems that he may have been everywhere from northern Maine to Michigan.


Leave a Reply

