Skip navigation

as the blind walk the blind
through the blackness of freedom
who writes the songs
that we all will be singing
who writes the books
where i’ll lay my hand down open
so to swear myself
into your grace

as the blind walk the blind
down the borderless highway
who holds the chain
who bears the load
don’t you be fooled
if my spirits are unbroken
it’s all in the next life
my fortunes are owed

and i’m warned not to preach
if the sermon i have written
or stand on some soapbox
i built with my hands
with those who preach well
will be bought out by some industry
and herds of golden cattle
before insecure eyes

as the blind walk the blind
through the blackness of freedom
who writes the songs
that we all will be singing
who writes the books
where i’ll lay my hand down open
so to swear myself
into your grace

as the blind walk the blind
through the science less forest
how an ancient river
do i put my seed down
if i no flag
i will pledge my allegiance
then whose holy body
do i orbit around
from what holy bottle
do i drink myself drowned

the waltz the circle waltz
through life’s sad audition
the part of the master
is most desired
the part of the servant
the orbiting patriot
is also holy
as the moon in the sky

as the blind walk the blind
through the blackness of freedom
who writes the songs
that we all will be singing
who writes the books
where i’ll lay my hand down open
so to swear myself
into your grace
into your grace



– unknown title – the low anthem – newport folk festival – August 2009

2 Comments

  1. That is really beautiful. “Who writes the songs that we all will be singing…”

    • i just got home from a Low Anthem concert in Ann Arbor, great show, didn’t think of that song ’till just now reading this .. glad … i would’ve been disappointed that they didn’t play it.

      Those lyrics kept going through my head for days until I transcribed them here, I don’t know what it was about that song, other than beautiful.
      The Low Anthem plays at Church of the Redeemer in Toronto this Saturday, check ’em out.


Leave a Reply

